Tuesday, August 8, 2017

The Movie Lovers - Episode 10: Atomic Blonde, Main Female Characters


It's our 10th episode!

In this episode Shanna and Jeff discuss Blade Runner, review the new Charlize Theron film, Atomic Blonde, and countdown their favorite main female characters. Jeff also reviews Dunkirk and Valerian in his week in review.


Wednesday, July 26, 2017

The Movie Lovers - Episode 9: War for the Planet of the Apes, 2010



Apologies for the slight delay, Movie Lovers!

In this episode, Shanna and Jeff review War for the Planet of the Apes and countdown their favorite movies from 2010.

You can find more episodes on iTunes. Kindly leave us a review!

Tuesday, July 11, 2017

The Movie Lovers - Episode 8: The Year So Far, 2011

Welcome to another episode of The Movie Lovers!

We have reached the halfway point in the year, so it's time for Jeff and Shanna to assess the year so far. Shanna offers a tip on renting movies. They also countdown their favorite movies of 2011.

You can find a new episode every two weeks. Next time on the Movie Lovers, a review of War for the Planet of the Apes. Look for it on 7/25.

Subscribe and leave a review! Or go to www.thegibsonreview.com for past episodes and more!


Thursday, June 29, 2017

The Movie Lovers - Episode 7: Female Directors

Apologies for the delay!
How many female directors can you name off the top of your head compared to male directors?
Have you noticed how few female directors are well-known?
In this episode Jeff and Shanna celebrate and discuss female directors and countdown their favorite movies directed by women!



Tuesday, June 13, 2017

The Movie Lovers - Episode 6: Wonder Woman, 2012


In this episode we review Wonder Woman and countdown our favorite movies of 2012. Click the jump to stream the episode.

You can find new episodes here, on SoundCloud, or now iTunes! Subscribe and leave us a review! Email your feedback to thegibsonreview@gmail.com


Tuesday, May 30, 2017

The Movie Lovers - Episode 5: Summer Movie Preview, 2013

Welcome to our 5th episode!

In this episode we talk about what movies we're most looking forward to this summer and countdown our favorite movies of 2013. Click the jump to stream the episode.

You can find new episodes here or on SoundCloud. Email your feedback to thegibsonreview@gmail.com

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

The Movie Lovers: Episode 4 - Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, Superhero Movies

Welcome to another episode of The Movie Lovers!

In this episode Shanna and Jeff talk about the Marvel Cinematic Universe franchise and review The Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2. They then discuss their favorite superhero movies in their first theme-based Film Faves.


Tuesday, May 2, 2017

The Movie Lovers, Episode 3: F8 of the Furious, 2014

Welcome to another episode of The Movie Lovers!
You were probably expecting this episode on May 7. We're a little ahead of schedule, as I'm working with finalizing a regular schedule closer to opening weekends of movies rather than three weeks later.

In this episode we welcome our first guest, Allen Gilchrist, to talk about the Fast and the Furious franchise and review The F8 of the Furious. Shanna Paxton returns to discuss Film Faves: 2014.

Sunday, April 23, 2017

The Movie Lovers: Episode 2 - Movie-Going Habits & Etiquette, 2015

Welcome to the 2nd episode of The Movie Lovers! Jeff and Shanna share their Week in Review, discuss their thoughts on the theatrical experience and streaming, and share their favorite films of 2015. Feel free to email constructive feedback to our discussions to thegibsonreview@gmail.com Thanks for listening!

You can find new episodes here and on SoundCloud every other week. Join us next time with a guest as we discuss the Fast and the Furious franchise and our favorite films of 2014. Episode should be posted May 7th.


Sunday, April 9, 2017

The Movie Lovers: The Official Podcast of The Gibson Review

The Gibson Review has entered new territory: podcasting.  Join my wife, Shanna Paxton, and me as take the blog to your ears, discussing movies and movie-related topics.

In this episode we introduce the podcast by way of discussing why podcast and what brought us to this adventure. We openly admit this is new territory for us and we know very little about the technical side of podcasting; we're learning as we go. So, we apologize if the sound is a little rough. We also ran a little long, but we hope to work our way to a manageable 90 minutes on average.

You'll find a new episode posted here every other week. Keep your eyes peeled. Below are the episode and the show notes.

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Top 20 Female Directors You Should Know

If you are a movie lover savvy enough to name film directors chances are the first names that come to mind are male: Steven Spielberg, Martin Scorsese, Quentin Tarantino, James Cameron, David Fincher, to name a few probably front-runners. Most people are hard-pressed to name a female film director. When I thought about it I was able to list upwards of 20 directors who are women and, after researching, was able to dig up more than 20 more.

These talents behind the camera are deserving of every bit as much notoriety as any successful male director. After researching up to 40 female directors, using a combination of theatrical output, critical success, average box office, and good old subjective opinion, I have ranked the top 20 female directors you should know.

Monday, February 13, 2017

25 Best Romantic Comedies of All Time

The romantic comedy is a tough genre. Let's be honest, like comedy and horror it's a genre chock-full of garbage. In the case of romantic comedies, they usually follow the same plot: guy and girl meet cute, guy and girl see each other, guy and girl fight, guy and girl make up. Sometimes, to add an inconsequential amount of variety, guy and girl either A) never express their mutual feelings and conflict arises or B) conflict arises from someone not being honest. At any rate, most romantic comedies follow one of these plot lines and really do nothing to add anything new to the genre. Worst of all, we know how the movie will end: girl gets guy (usually the movie is told from a female perspective).

The genre is full of movies with the same tired story and the same tired tropes. So, it's worth asking: are there any good romantic comedies? If so, which are the best?

Worry not, for I have mined through 90 years worth of films to offer you the 25 best romantic comedies. Now, before we begin you'll notice there are several romance movies NOT on the list: Romeo & Juliet, An Affair to Remember, The Princess Bride, the Before trilogy. Those are all fairly great films. However, I limited strictly to just the films that were comedic love stories - not tragedies, not fantasies, not musicals. Coincidentally, all of the films on this list take place in the time they were filmed, with one exception.

So steel thy heart, prepare to be wooed and lets get on with the countdown.